June 2021 Submission: My Experience on Pride and Solidarity in Madrid

This post features an anonymous submission that was sent to us. Read on below!

Submission

There is a borough of Madrid called Vallecas which organizes its singular Pride in the borough. They marched on June 26th, and I marched with the A-spec block, with ace and aro flags. Later on June 28th I marched with the non-binary block in the so-called Critical Pride, in the city. I am intersectional and I don’t have ubiquity.

The march was warmed up by a cinema-forum in the borough on June 25th. The film shown that evening was Pride (2014) and I like it very much. I enjoyed it and moved me from the beginning to the end. I want to highlight its opening song, the traditional British union song Solidarity Forever.


I was so moved by this song that I composed 3 stanzas in Spanish the next morning, dealing with the new LGTBI bill that excludes non-binary people and also aces and aros. Moreover, its procedures are draconian even for binary trans people and parents of intersex children.


So I think we should make union among those forgotten among the minorities (aces, aros, non-binaries, intersex) and learn from this union song.

1 Comment

Leave a comment